Capital Pride Alliance to Honor LGBTA Heroes, Engendered Spirits, and Award Winners at Annual Gala

Washington Capital Braden Holtby to Receive Ally Award

Washington, D.C., April 20, 2017 – The Capital Pride Alliance is proud to announce the recipients of the 2017 Capital Pride Heroes Award, Engendered Spirits, awards named for late founding board members, Bill Miles and Larry Stansbury, and the Ally Award.

The recipients are nominated each year by members of the community, based on the criteria of having advanced the causes of LGBTA rights. A committee of Capital Pride’s Board of Directors recommends nominees to the full Board, which then approves recipients, along with the Engendered Spirits, who were recommended by the Trans Pride Committee. The recipients will be honored at the Capital Pride Heroes Gala, with major events sponsors Hilton and UPS, and generously hosted by the Historical Society of Washington, DC, on Saturday, May 13, at 7:00 PM, in the Carnegie Library, 801 K Street NW, Washington, DC.

This elegant evening on the town includes great entertainment, an open bar, andthe best food-tasting stations in DC, with Asia NineCaliBurgerMason Dixie Biscuit Co., and Taco BambaSpecial thanks to beverage sponsors Barefoot Wine & BubblyStoli, and Heineken.

“The Capital Pride Alliance extends thanks and gratitude to our community, which has numerous individuals, leaders, and activists dedicated to fighting for LGBTA rights for all of us.” said Bernie Delia, President of the Board of Directors of the Capital Pride Alliance. “We are fortunate to have such a challenging honoree selection process, with so many outstanding individuals who are nominated. We’re very pleased to announce and celebrate these individuals at the 2017 Heroes Gala.”

The following awards will be presented on May 13:

Capital Pride Heroes are dedicated individuals whose body of work has had a positive, significant, and lasting impact on the LGBTA community.

  • Dee Curry – Long-time HIV/AIDS activist, Ryan White Planning Council Member, and Transgender rights spokesperson, currently working at Casa Ruby.
  • Juan Carlos Loubriel – Director of Community Health and Wellness, currently overseeing mobile and clinic based counseling at Whitman-Walker Health.
  • Amy Loudermilk – Advocate for marginalized members of the LGBTQ community, previously with the DC Coalition Against Domestic Violence and currently directing initiatives in suicide prevention at The Trevor Project
  • Richard Rosendall – Gay and Lesbian Activists Alliance member since 1979, and crusader for LGBT equality through decades of volunteerism.
  • Melvin Thomas – Founding member of Stonewall Sports, a national LGBTQIA non-profit sports organization, and volunteer with the Hugh O’Brian (HOBY) youth development program.

Engendered Spirits are those individuals who have made significant contributions to the transgender community. They will also be honored at the 2016 Capital Trans Pride on May 21.

  • Stacey Karpen – Clinician and researcher focused on the application of cultural humility in domestic and international settings, specifically with populations affected by HIV/AIDS and transgender children and adults.
  • Hayden Mora – Founding member of Trans United, advocate for LGBTQ minorities and immigrants, and political campaign activist.

The Bill Miles Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service acknowledges exemplary contributions to the annual Capital Pride celebration.  Dr. Miles was a dedicated volunteer, an active member of the DC LGBT community, and a founding member of the Capital Pride Alliance.

  • Jerry Houston – Radio personality at HOT 99.5 and PRIDE RADIO and volunteer Executive Producer of Capital Pride Concert.

Larry Stansbury Award recognizes exemplary contributions to Pride in the national capital region.

  • Brother Help Thyself – Non-profit organization supporting the many needs of the LGBTQ and HIV/AIDS communities in Washington, D.C. and Baltimore for almost 40 years.

Ally Award

  • Braden Holtby – Washington Capitals goaltender Braden Holtby is a vocal proponent of LGBTQ initiatives in the sport of hockey will be given the Ally Award for his efforts promote respect and equality for all people.