Washington, D.C., May 26, 2022 – The Capital Pride Alliance is proud to announce the recipients of the 2022 Capital Pride Honors. The recipients are nominated each year by members of the community, based on the criteria of having advanced the causes of LGBTQ+ rights. A committee of Capital Pride’s Board of Directors recommends nominees to the full Board, which then approves recipients. The recipients will be honored at the Capital Pride Honors reception, generously hosted by Penn Social, 801 E St NW, Washington, DC, on Friday, June 3, at 7:00 PM. This event kicks off the annual Capital Pride Celebration week. The event is also generously supported by Tito’s Handmade Vodka, Sam Adam’s Love Conquers Ale, Truly, and Barefoot Wine & Bubbly. Entertainment will be provided by DJ Edward Daniels from Scorpio Entertainment, with a special performance by Inaya Day (INAYA). INAYA has been in dance music for over 20 years and has just been named one of Billboard’s Greatest of All Time Top Dance Club Artists!

“The Capital Pride Alliance extends thanks and gratitude to our community, which has numerous individuals, leaders, and activists dedicated to fighting for LGBGTQ+ rights for all of us.” said Ashley Smith, President of the Board of Directors of the Capital Pride Alliance. “We are fortunate to have such a challenging honoree selection process, with so many outstanding individuals who were nominated. We’re very pleased to announce and celebrate these individuals at the 2022 Capital Pride Honors.”


The following awards will be presented on June 3: (View full bios and event information.)

The Capital Pride Heroes Award recognizes individuals who have furthered the causes important to LGBTQ+ community in the national capital region. These heroes have brought about positive changes to our lives and our community.

  • Karl Frisch
  • Diana Fitz
  • Tarik Pierce
  • Keith Pollard
  • Lessie “Les” Henderson
  • Reverend Dr. Aaron B. Wade


The Bill Miles Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service acknowledges exemplary contributions to the Capital Pride Alliance, its programs, initiatives or other Pride sponsored activities.

  • Deborah McQueen


The Presidential Award is a recognition given by the President of the Capital Pride Alliance’s Board of Directors to an individual or organization for their extraordinary contributions and exemplary support of the LGBTQ+ community in the National Capital Region.

  • Wendy Rieger (posthumously)


For more information about our honorees and tickets please go to




The Capital Pride Alliance (CPA), located in Washington, DC, is a nonprofit organization dedicated to serving the needs of the LGBTQ+ community all year long, through educational programs, major events, fundraising, outreach and advocacy, providing platforms for visibility, and supporting the work of our many community organizations and local businesses. | Facebook (CapitalPrideDC), Twitter (CapitalPrideDC)

YouTube, Instagram (@CapitalPrideDC)